PHOTO: © Jörg Wiegels

American Symphonic

In the organizer's words:

This summer, the HHU University Orchestra is embarking on a musical journey to the United States of America, bringing famous and lesser-known repertoire to the stage.
Leonard Bernstein cultivated a close friendship with cellist Mstislav Rostropovich (nickname: Slava) and dedicated his composition "Slava! A Political Overture", which he composed for the first concert of the National Symphony Orchestra under the direction of its new chief conductor Rostropovich. Samuel Barber's "Adagio for strings" is world-famous as a highly emotional work. Less well known in Europe is his violin concerto, which presents the full range of the violin, from indulgent melodies to virtuosity of the highest order. George Gershwin's opera "Porgy and Bess" moves effortlessly across genre boundaries and uses elements of blues and jazz. The suite for orchestra presents the highlights of the most famous American opera.
What all three composers have in common is that they never allowed themselves to be restricted stylistically and acted freely musically. In this way, they became pioneering parts of the "American sound".

Conductor: AMD Silke Löhr


Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Slava! A Political Overture for Orchestra (1977)

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Adagio for strings (1938)

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Concerto for violin and orchestra, op. 14 (1939)
Violin: Elena Klaas


George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Porgy and Bess: Symphonic Picture (arranged by Robert Russell Bennett, 1894-1981)

This content has been machine translated.

Price information:

Tickets for the concert in the Johanneskirche are available at the Box Office (cash payment). Tickets cost €14 (€10 concessions).


Johanneskirche Düsseldorf Martin-Luther-Platz 39 40212 Düsseldorf

Artist | Orchestra

Universitätsorchester der HHU Düsseldorf
Universitätsorchester der HHU Düsseldorf Universitätsstraße 1 40225 Düsseldorf

Get the Rausgegangen App!

Be always up-to-date with the latest events in Düsseldorf!