PHOTO: © GMD / Dave Brendan Hall


In the organizer's words:
Olivier Messiaen's "Quartet on the End of Time," composed in 1940 while he was a prisoner of war in Germany, is revisited from a contemporary perspective in AKOKA, a program conceived by David Krakauer and Matt Haimovitz. Named after Henri Akoka, the Jewish clarinetist of the premiere, the concert frames Messiaen's transcendent masterpiece with Krakauer's quasi-improvisational piece of the same title and a new electronic composition by producer, beat-maker and klezmer artist Socalled. Pianist Kathleen Tagg, last seen with Krakauer in the audiovisual production Breath & Hammer at the Pierre Boulez Hall, and Johnny Gandelsman, violinist of the New York string quartet Brooklyn Rider, complete the ensemble. This content has been machine translated.

Price information:

15.00 - 45.00€


Pierre Boulez Saal Französische Straße 33 D 10117 Berlin

Get the Rausgegangen App!

Be always up-to-date with the latest events in Berlin!